Latest News

Announcement of 2018 IPSA Awards Winners

IPSA is pleased to announce the recipients of the following IPSA Awards, granted on the recommendation of the IPSA Committee on Organization, Procedures and Awards (COPA):

Foundation Mattei Dogan Award winner: James Scott

James Scott.jpg

Prof. James Scott received the Award for his contribution to the advancement of political science. Prof. Scott will deliver an award lecture at the 2018 IPSA World Congress on Sunday, 22 July at 15:30. Prof. Scott is the Sterling Professor of Political Science at Yale University and Professor of Anthropology and is co-Director of the Agrarian Studies Program.
James Scott's biography


Juan Linz Prize winner: Adam Przeworski

Adam Przeworski.jpgThe purpose of the Juan Linz Prize is to honour a prominent scholar engaged in the Decentralization, Multinational and Multiethnic Integration and Federalism Comparative Research of which Juan Linz was a master. Prof. Przeworski is the Carroll and Milton Professor of Politics and (by courtesy) Economics at New York University. Adam Przeworski's biography


2018 Karl Deutsch Award winner: Robert Putnam

Photo small_Robert Putnam.jpgThe purpose of the Karl Deutsch Award is to honour a prominent scholar engaged in the cross-disciplinary research of which Karl Deutsch was a master.
Robert D. Putnam is the Peter and Isabel Malkin Professor of Public Policy at Harvard University. 
Robert Putnam's biography



İlter Turan Brings Together Distinguished Scholars for the President’s Plenary

Ilter Turan.jpg

IPSA President İlter Turan will lead the President’s Plenary session at the 25th IPSA World Congress on July 24, 2018. The Plenary, titled Challenging the Borders of Liberal Democracy: The Global Rise of Populism, brings together distinguished scholars from different regions of the world. Speakers will include María Esperanza Casullo, Duncan McDonnell, Leonardo Morlino, Ersin Kalaycioglu, Pippa Norris and Ronald Inglehart.

İlter Turan’s biography

Speakers and their presentations:

María Esperanza Casullo
Presentation: Populist Myths and Populist Bodies: Understanding Populist Representation

Duncan McDonnell
Presentation: Respectable Radicals? Right-wing Populists and Mainstream Parties

Ersin Kalaycıoğlu
Presentation: Democracy and Populism: The Achilles’ Heel of Democratic Government

Leonardo Morlino
Presentation: New Populism and Protest Parties

Pippa Norris and Ronald Inglehart
Presentation: Tipping Points, Cultural Backlash & Rising Populism

David P. Forsythe Confirmed as Plenary Speaker at the 2018 IPSA World Congress

IPSA is proud to announce that David P. Forsythe, Charles J. Mach Distinguished Professor of Political Science at University of Nebraska-Lincoln and an authoritative voice in the international politics of human rights, will serve as plenary speaker for the upcoming 25th IPSA World Congress.

Prof. Forsythe will deliver a keynote speech titled “The Future of Human Rights in an Era of Narrow Nationalism: The Margin for Cross Border Concern and Action

Cynthia Enloe Confirmed as Plenary Speaker at the 2018 IPSA World Congress


IPSA is pleased to announce that Cynthia Enloe, Research Professor at Clark University (USA) and a foundational figure in the feminist sciences of politics, has been confirmed as a plenary speaker at the 25th IPSA World Congress of Political Science in Brisbane.

Prof. Enloe will deliver a plenary speech titled “Patriarchy is Bigger than Donald Trump.”

“Donald Trump is an unlikely gift to those who benefit from patriarchy. His capacity to dominate the international political stage may be diverting us from devoting serious attention to the more routine, less outrageous forms of patriarchal beliefs, values, and relationships shaping today's international politics. Patriarchy is not an ideological abstraction. It is a particular driver of militarization, racial inequities, and globalized investments and labor practices. Feminists started honing the questions to make patriarchy in all its mundane forms visible long before celebrity candidates and masculinized authoritarian leaders strode across the current stage”.

Cynthia Enloe's biography


Antony Green and Lisa Hill Confirmed as Plenary Speakers at the 2018 IPSA World Congress in Brisbane

IPSA is proud to announce that Antony Green, Australia’s leading election analyst, and Lisa Hill, Professor of Politics at the University of Adelaide, will serve as plenary speakers at the 25th IPSA World Congress of Political Science in Brisbane.

The plenary session, under the title Australia’s Democratic Innovations, will introduce the long-standing Australian practices of preferential electoral systems and compulsory voting, citing their importance for democracy.

antony-green200x200creditdanielboud.jpgPresentation: Counting All Opinions: Australian Experience with Preferential Voting
Speaker: Antony Green

For more than a century, Australian elections have been conducted using preferential methods of voting. Rather than selecting a single candidate or party, voters complete their ballot papers with a rank ordering of candidates. Preferential voting, in both single and multi-member forms, is used to elect representatives for all levels of Australian government. Single-member preferential voting was advocated as allowing greater choice of candidate while also ensuring elected members had majority support. Its later implementation by conservative parties was in response to the emergence of the trade union aligned Labor Party, whose strong candidate selection procedures gave it an advantage under simple majority voting. A century of elections under preferential voting has shaped the party system by allowing local electoral contests without endangering broader party co-operation, creating more stable coalition arrangements than under simple majority voting. Voters can also reveal their real preferences for new and existing parties without concerns over vote splitting. In its multi-member form (PR-STV), Australian preferential voting evolved as a method of ensuring broader representation of interests while also encouraging competition between candidates of the same party. Within Australia’s strongly bicameral parliamentary system, PR-STV has also evolved away from its candidate-based origins into a novel form of party-based proportional representation.
Antony Green’s biography


lisa-hill200x200.jpgCompulsory Voting in Australia: Effects, Public Acceptance and Democratic Justification
Speaker: Lisa Hill

Compulsory voting has been a major feature of Australian electoral arrangements for almost a century and it has proved to be a very effective and well-tolerated mechanism for maintaining high voter turnout. What explains the relatively high public acceptance of the practice in this country? And what conditions need to hold in other settings for compulsory voting to be an appropriate solution to the problem of low and declining turnout? There are also normative issues to consider, particularly whether compulsory voting is an unacceptable violation of democratic values, as is often claimed. It is argued that this objection is fatal only if it is agreed that the choice about whether or not to attend a polling place is more important than a range of other fundamental democratic values that compulsory voting can serve, among them: representativeness, democratic legitimacy, political equality, minimisation of elite power, popular sovereignty and inclusiveness. In order to discredit compulsory voting, it needs to be shown that representative democracy is worse off when people are required to vote. Yet, under the right conditions, the reverse seems to be the case.
Lisa Hill’s biography